Board of Directors

Mr. Henri Harland

Mr. Henri Harland has been a Director and the President and Chief Executive Officer of the company since its incorporation on October 9, 1998. He is the founder of the company and has been involved in the krill research project since 1991. For more than 10 years, he has held the position of President and Chief Executive Officer of Groupe Conseil Harland inc., a financial engineering group. He has acted as an independent financial consultant, guiding companies from various industrial sectors in both North America and Europe in their capital restructuring, financing and business development.

Dr. Ronald Denis

Dr. Ronald Denis is currently Chief of Surgery and Co-Director of the Trauma Program at Hôpital du Sacré-Coeur in Montreal. Since 1987, Dr. Denis has also been Medical Co-Director of the Canadian Formula 1 Grand Prix. Dr. Denis sits on several scientific boards and management committees.

Mr. Daniel Perry

Since March 1993, Mr. Daniel Perry has been General Manager of a company operating a recreation/tourism complex in France. Also, Mr. Perry is a specialist and consultant in marketing new products on the European continent.

Dr. Harlan W. Waksal

Dr. Waksal is a retired physician. He is the Vice-President of Business and Scientific Affairs at Acasti Pharma Inc. He received his B.A. from Oberlin College and M.D. from Tufts University School of Medicine, and his post-graduate training was in internal medicine and pathology. He also accomplished research in immunology at the Weizmann Institute of Science. Dr. Waksal was a founder of ImClone Systems Incorporated, a New York based pharmaceutical company specializing in the development of new treatments for various forms of cancer. He served as the Chief Operating Officer and member of the Board of Directors from 1986 until 2001, and as President and Chief Executive Officer from 2001 until 2002. During his tenure, he was responsible for building the scientific and operational infrastructure of the company. Dr. Waksal is the author of over 50 scientific publications and has been the author of multiple patents and patent applications. His current activities are focused on managing various real estate developments and serving on select boards of directors. Dr. Waksal currently serves on the boards of Oberlin College and Senesco Technologies, Inc. He also serves on the Advisory Board of Northern Rivers Funds.

Dr. Reed V. Tuckson

Dr. Tuckson is currently the Managing Director of Tuckson Health Connections, LLC, a health and medical care consulting business.  Previously, he served a long tenure as Executive Vice President and Chief of Medical Affairs for UnitedHealth Group, a Fortune 25 health and wellbeing company, which includes the United States largest health insurer and the industry’s most comprehensive health services company. 

Among his many committee memberships, Dr. Tuckson is member of the Advisory Committee to the Director of the National Institutes of Health and is also an active member of the Institute of Medicine of the National Academy of Sciences. He also serves on the Boards of the American Telemedicine Association, Howard University and Cell Therapeutics Inc., a public corporation.  

Dr. Tuckson is a graduate of Howard University, Georgetown University School of Medicine, and the Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania’s General Internal Medicine Residency and Fellowship Programs, where he was also a Robert Wood Johnson Foundation Clinical Scholar studying at the Wharton School of Business. 

Mr. Valier Boivin

Mr. Valier Boivin holds a bachelor’s degree in Economic and Administrative Sciences (UQAC-1973), a master’s degree in Taxation (Université de Sherbrooke, 1978) and a law degree (Université de Montréal, 1985). Furthermore, he is a member of the “Barreau du Québec” since 1986 and the "Ordre des comptables agréés du Québec" since 1974. He held the position of Professor at the Université du Québec à Chicoutimi until 1978 and then joined the master’s degree in taxation program as Professor, at the Université de Sherbrooke until 1987. Founder (in 1987) of Boivin O’Neil, s.e.n.c., he practices business law. Specialized in Mergers & Acquisitions and corporate financing, he acts as legal and strategic counsel to many private and public companies. Since January 2009, he is President of the regional economic intervention fund, FIER Ville-Marie L.P. Mr. Boivin is also socially involved with various professional associations, non-profit organizations and charitable foundations